Watch Video: Longest partial lunar eclipse of the CENTURY will take place tomorrow morning, making the moon appear red for around 3.5 hours, NASA says

0
133

Longest partial lunar eclipse of the CENTURY will take place tomorrow morning, making the moon appear red for around 3.5 hours, NASA says

  • North America will see 97 per cent of the moon turn reddish during the eclipse 
  • The earliest stages of the eclipse will begin at 06:02 GMT (01:02 ET) tomorrow 
  • The moon will then gradually become more obscured from 07:18 GMT (02:18 ET)
  • The eclipse will end at 10:47 GMT (05:47 ET), peak is at 09:02 GMT (04:02 ET)
  • It will barely be visible from the UK as the moon is setting before peak eclipse 
  • The point of maximum eclipse is at 09:02 GMT, well after moonset in the UK

For three and a half hours tomorrow morning, some parts of the world will see most of the moon change colour, turning red as it passes through the Earth’s shadow.

This will be the longest partial lunar eclipse of the century, according to NASA, with the peak at 09:02 GMT (04:02 ET), when 97 per cent of the moon will be covered in shadow.

It will be best viewed from North America, with Hawaii experiencing the full 97 per cent coverage, and much of the continent able to experience the entire event.

During this time it will take on a reddish, rust colour, caused by light waves from the sun being filtered by Earth’s atmosphere.

Skywatchers in the UK won’t get much of a show, with a small slither of the moon turning red from the start of the eclipse at 06:02 GMT until moonset at 07:24 GMT.

According to the Royal Observatory, Greenwich, the partial eclipse will be ‘barely visible in the UK’ as it occurs when the moon is close to or below the horizon.

This full moon is known as the ‘beaver blood micro moon’, as it coincides with Native American tribes setting beaver traps, and is at its furthest point from Earth.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here